Monday, February 18, 2013

What's for Breakfast Yawl?

Breakfast at The Claiborne House B&B is never a stale pop tart or muffin. We always prepare a hot home-cooked delicious breakfast for our guests!
There is nothing continental about our breakfasts!
All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast!
LIFE IS TOO SHORT FOR BAD COFFEE~
Or if you prefer, reserve The Sierra Suite or The Love Shack (aka the Wash House Cottage) and we will deliver to your door!
Breakfast delivered to your door for a small additional fee
Red Hot Lovers Breakfast first course
You can book your room online at any time right here at The Claiborne House B&B!

ISN'T IT TIME FOR A BLUE RIDGE DAY Y'ALL?


An innkeeper I know in Montreal mentioned why they only use sugar marked "Kosher' for their guests, beyond for Jewish guests, another reason is to satisfy their Vegan/Vegetarian guests. 
We have Vegan guests from time to time, so we have RAW SUGAR available for coffee and tea. You might be interested in learning more about where our sugar in the USA comes from below:

Is Sugar Vegan?

Q: Why vegans won't eat plain old sugar that you buy at the grocery store? 

A: Half of the white table sugar manufactured in the United States is cane sugar and the other half is beet sugar. Beet sugar accounts for about 40% of the world's sugar, and the United States is the third largest producer. Sugar beets, which naturally contain 16 to 18 percent sucrose, flourish in temperate climates where the soil is rich and the growing season is about five months long. Thirteen U.S. states currently grow sugar beets. Sugarcane, which contains 12 to 14 percent sucrose, is a tropical grass and is grown in four U.S. states: Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, and Texas. Both cane sugar and beet sugar are considered to be among the "purest" foods available because they are 99.9 percent sucrose.

The primary distinction between cane sugar and beet sugar, other than being derived from different plants, is the processing method. Unlike beet sugar, cane sugar processing typically takes place at two locations, the sugar mill and the refinery. During the final purification process, cane sugar is filtered through activated carbon (charcoal) which may be of animal, vegetable, or mineral origin. This step is unnecessary for beet sugar and therefore is never done.

Over half of the cane refineries in the United States use bone char (charcoal made from animal bones) as their activated carbon source. The bone char used in this filtering process is so far removed from its animal source that cane sugar processed in this method is deemed kosher pareve, which, according to Jewish dietary laws, means that it contains no meat or milk in any form as an ingredient. A number of vegans disagree with this perspective.

Look for this symbol
Consumers cannot discern any differences between beet sugar and cane sugar in taste, appearance, and use. Beet sugar is frequently not labeled as such -- the packaging may just list "sugar." Cane sugar is more often labeled specifically, but not always. For consumers wishing to differentiate, the issue has become convoluted. Many vegans prefer to avoid white table sugar altogether rather than chance using a product that was filtered through bone char.

Brown sugar consists of sugar crystals (cane sugar or beet sugar) combined with molasses for taste and color. Confectioner's sugar (also known as "powdered sugar") is white table sugar that has been pulverized into a very fine powder and sifted.

Some vegans replace white table sugar with unbleached cane sugar or dehydrated and granulated cane juice, both of which are available in natural food stores. Most of these products can replace white sugar measure for measure for general use (such as on cereal or in beverages) and in recipes. These products are typically darker in color than white table sugar -- ranging from light amber to rich brown -- due to their naturally higher molasses content. This can sometimes alter the flavor of recipes and may also affect the color of the finished product